介绍

玉露(H. cooperi)
玉露(H. cooperi)

珍珠似的奇异形态,却能在此类植物中常常发现,充分地补足了细小花朵的遗憾。它们的美丽堪比那些常年盛开的植物。

阿德里安·哈沃斯。《林奈协会期刊》。1801。

十二卷(Haworthia)是在非洲南部生长的一属多肉植物,以英国植物学家阿德里安·哈沃斯(Adrian Haworth)命名。十二卷体型较小,多数有着低矮的花朵状多肉叶片。基于繁多的种类,十二卷拥有大量迷人的外观与罕见的形态,从黑白斑马纹的细长叶片到清澈或有网纹的半透明叶片。这些小小植物宝石是收藏家的梦想。

十二卷在很长的时间里被归于芦荟属(Aloe),直到十九世纪早期被单独划分出来。2010年代,基因研究进一步把以前的十二卷属分为三个属:十二卷属(Haworthia,42种)、小型硬叶十二卷属(Haworthiopsis,18种)与大型硬叶十二卷属(Tulisa,4种)。

玉扇(H. truncata)
玉扇(H. truncata)

虽然大量多肉植物喜爱直射的阳光,十二卷却更适应半遮荫的环境,常生长在灌木下或者岩石缝隙间。在原生地,十二卷是是最难找到的多肉植物之一。它们的种群很小——常在数米内,有几十上百的个体集中生长。另一方面,它们的种群间距很大,距离常达到数公里。在普通的考察多肉的实地旅行中,一般只能见到龙城(H. viscosa)或者宝草(H. cymbiformis)。运气好的话也许能遇见牡丹(H. arachnoidea)。其他在培育中常见的品种如寿(H. retusa)几乎是找不到的。至今为止,多数被识别的种类都生长在城市或道路附近。可以想象还有更多种类仍有待发现。

十二卷的外观有着让人惊叹的多样性。它们个体间的纹理和颜色千变万化,常能诞生极其迷人的组合。培育者们精心挑选父母本杂交,进而创造出更有魅力的品种。那些醉心于十二卷的人们,对每个植株独特的美丽都怀着最真挚的敬意。

Introduction

H. cooperi
H. cooperi

The pearly and odd-constructed forms, however, so frequently found in this division, abundantly compensate for their trifling blossoms. Their beauties are equal to others which are always in bloom.

Adrian Haworth. Transcations of the Linnean Society. 1801.

Haworthia is a genus of succulent plants endemic to Southern Africa, named after the British botanist Adrian Haworth. Haworthias are relatively small, and most consist of low-growing rosettes of succulent leaves. With multitudes of species, they comprise numerous striking appearances and unusual forms, ranging from narrow leaves with black-and-white zebra stripes, to clear or reticulated translucent leaves. These tiny plant gems are a collector’s dream.

Haworthias were included in the genus Aloe before being promoted to a new genus in the Asphodelaceae family in the early 1800’s. In the 2010’s, genetic studies further divided the former genus Haworthia into three genera: Haworthia (42 species), Haworthiopsis (18 species) and Tulista (4 species).

H. truncata
H. truncata

While many succulents like full sun, Haworthias are more adapted to semi-shade conditions. They often grow under shrubby plants or in rock crevices. In the native habitat, Haworthias are very difficult to be found. Their population sizes are often small – within several meters, tens to hundreds of individuals grow together. On the other hand, the population distributions are fragmented and the distances are often in kilometers. In a field trip searching for succulents, one usually only sees H. viscosa or H. cymbiformis. With good luck, encounter H. arachnoidea can be encountered. Other common species in cultivation like H. retusa are barely found. So far most of the recognized Haworthia species grow near cities or roads. There are certainly more species yet to be discovered.

A wonderful feature of Haworthia is the great variation in the appearance. Textures and colors vary greatly among individuals and often display exceptionally attractive combinations. Growers carefully select parents and then hybridize to create more fascinating varieties. The people who enjoy Haworthias have a true admiration for the beauty of each individual plant.